It may be a long shot, but Mikko Heininen has improved his championship chances with a fantastic win at the Brazilian Grand Prix. Heininen has now won four races of this season; the most out of everyone.

Mikko Heininen claimed pole position, however a fast starting Daniel Bruner displaced the Fin into 2nd. Jewel Barclay also made a great start; from 5th to 3rd. However the very next lap, Mikko Heininen made a stunning overtake on Bruner and begun to open up his lead by over a second a lap. The Nakley duo remained in 2nd and 3rd, with Spargrove, Santos, Vitalio, Pruett, and championship leader Gus Addison behind. Luiz Santos made most of a small mistake from Spargrove, snatching 4th place from under the Australians nose. Santos then begun to chase Jewel Barclay, easily passing the Canadian down the straight. This now meant Heininen, Bruner and Santos were in the top three positions; ironically 8th placed Addison's championship rivals.

Further down the field, James Malva was very eager to pass Fabiano Donatelo. However Malva knocked off his front wing, while Donatelo flipped into the gravel; luckily both drivers could continue. Fifth placed Will Spargrove had Luigi Vitalio all over the beck of him. Vitalio made his moved, however flipped his Lamborghini into retirement. This put an end to the Vitalio's championship hopes.

At the front of the field Mikko Heininen had built a 21 second lead. Daniel Bruner meanwhile caught heavy traffic, bunching Santos, Barclay, Spargrove, Pruett, and Addison behind him. Ivan Pruett made most of the opportunity to pass Spargrove, then have a go at Barclay and Santos. Unfortunately the Scottish driver knocked his front wing off. Barclay passed Santos, while Spargrove had seemed to let Addison through. Gus Addison was now running in 5th placed; however not high enough to win the championship.

Mikko Heininen posted the fastest lap on the final lap and took victory at the Brazilian Grand Prix. Daniel Bruner finished in strong 2nd, ahead of his teammate Barclay in 3rd. Reigning world champion Luiz Santos finished 4th; however has now dropped out of championship contention. Gus Addison claimed 5th, Will Spargrove 6th, Mika Salonen 7th, and Kyle Aroni 8th. Ivan Pruett drove to 9th, ahead of 10th placed Mike Nadaruk.

With both Lamborghini drivers dropping out of championship contention, it put's a sour cloud over last seasons championship winning team. Gus Addison leads Daniel Bruner and Mikko Heininen, by 15 and 16 points. However with one final race to go; there are still 20 points up for grabs. Who will win the championship?

Race Results

Pole Position: Mikko Heininen
Fastest Lap: Mikko Heininen

01        Mikko Heininen                                Peugeot
02        Daniel Bruner                                  Nakley-Peugeot
03        Jewel Barclay                                  Nakley-Peugeot
04        Luiz Santos                                     Lamborghini
05        Gus Addison                                    Fast Orange-Holden
06        Will Spargrove                                 Fast Orange-Holden
07        Mika Salonen                                   Subaru
08        Kyle Aroni                                        Subaru
09        Ivan Pruett                                      Peugeot
10        Mike Nadaruk                                   BMW
11        Stuart Watts                                    Adepto-Ford
12        Nicky Espinosa                                 Adepto-Ford
13        Alva Askew                                       Koenigsegg-Lamborghini
14        Niklas Shultz                                      BMW
15        Jean Alaniz                                        Vagabond-Peugeot
16        Petro Vitali                                         Holden                                   
17        Rico Rendon                                     Koenigsegg-Lamborghini
18        Fabiano Donatelo                              Rock Wallaby-Lamborghini
19        Cristiano de Costa                              Vehi Cross-Subaru
20        Alvaro Magellen                                  Rock Wallaby-Lamborghini
21        James Malva                                       Holden
DNF      Kurtis Villareal                                     Vagabond-Peugeot                        Brakes
DNF      Jeffery Crowe                                    Vehi Cross-Subaru                          Gearbox
DNF      Luigi Vitalio                                         Lamborghini                                   Accident

Driver Reaction

Mikko Heininen (1st)
"We have never stood down on this championship fight, and today show's we are still very motivated. Once again the car handled fantastic and I see no reason why it won't be the same in Mexico. I think it is sixteen points that separate me from Gus Addison, so It is a win or nothing. We can still do this".

Daniel Bruner (2nd)
"My start was great, so I managed to take the lead. Though the next lap Mikko made a nice move on me. So from then on it was just about staying in second. The car was great to drive. Like Mikko, I can still win the championship with one race to go. I am really looking forward to Mexico".

Jewel Barclay (3rd)
"I want to thank the team for giving me another opportunity to take a podium. I vow to take another in Mexico, and give help to Dan if he needs it. I had a good battle with Santos, though was lucky as I think Pruett his my rear wheel. Great race and I look forward to the next one".

Leave a Reply.