Daniel Bruner has managed to take his second win of his career, and the first for Nakley since season five. The race was not without carnage however, with three big names retiring from the race; this included pole sitter Mikko Heininen. Ivan Pruett finished in 2nd, while Gus Addison claimed 3rd and now leads the world championship.

It was a wet start for the South African Grand Prix; with all drivers struggling for the grip. The first shock came when Mikko Heininen slid into the wall, immedietly putting the Peugeot driver into retirement; this handed the lead to Luigi Vitalio. On the next lap an even bigger shock was about to happen. Championship leader Luiz Santos who moved his way up into 4th lost control of his Lamborghini and collided in the same place Heininen did. The Brazilian moved onto the track triggering chaos between a dozen drivers. This included Petro Vitali who was lucky not to fly into the air. While some drivers escaped with just front wing damage; Magellen, Shah, Vitali, Watts, and Santos all retired from the race. Luiz Santos has become under 'extreme' investigation for one of GPC's worst crashes.

There was soon to be more palms on faces for the champion team, as Luigi Vitalio pitted to change tyres, only to spin into the wall. This meant no points for Lamborghini. As the race begun to settle down in was Daniel Bruner leading from his teamate Jewel Barclay, with Pruett, Nadaruk, and Addison behind. The rain begun to stop and all the drivers pitted for dry tyres. During the stops Barclay lost three positions. While Mike Nadaruk was promoted into a podium position, he was soon to suffer from a gearbox failure, handing third to Gus Addison.

Daniel Bruner kept Ivan Pruett at bay to win Nakley's first race of the season. Addison finished 3rd, ahead of Jewel Barclay, Kyle Aroni, and Mika Salonen. Alva Askew made use of the chaos to finish 7th, while Nicky Espinosa, Will Spargrove, and Rico Rendon completed th top ten.

Race Results

01        Daniel Bruner                                        Nakley-Peugeot
02        Ivan Pruett                                           Peugeot
03        Gus Addison                                          Fast Orange-Holden
04        Jewel Barclay                                         Nakley-Peugeot
05        Kyle Aroni                                              Subaru
06        Mika Salonen                                          Subaru
07        Alva Askew                                             Koenigsegg-Lamborghini
08        Nicky Espinosa                                       Adepto-Ford
09        Will Spargrove                                        Fast Orange-Holden
10        Rico Rendon                                           Koenigsegg-Lamborghini
11        Kurtis Villareal                                           Vagabond-BMW
12        Jean Alaniz                                               Vagabond-BMW
13        James Malva                                             Holden
14        Cristiano de Costa                                    Vehi Cross-Subaru
DNF      Niklas Shultz                                             BMW                                                        Brakes
DNF      Fabiano Donatelo                                     Rock Wallaby-Lamborghini                        Brakes
DNF      Mike Nadaruk                                            BMW                                                        Gearbox
DNF      Luigi Vitalio                                                Lamborghini                                             Accident
DNF      Stuart Watts                                             Adepto-Ford                                             Accident
DNF      Luiz Santos                                               Lamborghini                                              Accident
DNF      Petro Vitali                                                 Holden                                                      Accident
DNF      Saurabh Shah                                           Vehi Cross-Subaru                                     Accident
DNF      Mikko Heininen                                           Peugeot                                                    Accident
DNF      Alvaro Magellen                                          Rock Wallaby-Lamborghini                        Accident

Driver Reaction

Daniel Bruner (1st)
"I want to thank the whole team for giving me the chance to take my second victory. Mikko and Luigi crashed while in the lead so that gave me a big oppurtinity. From then on the car handled great and I really believe the team have made great progress with the car. We are looking pretty good in the championship. Where we were last season comparing to now, is a big step".

Ivan Pruett (2nd)
"It's nice to be back up on the podium in what has been an inconsistent season so far. Congratulations to Daniel and my old team Nakley for the win. Yet again it was a race where you had to keep out of trouble. I saw Santos spin off and cars collided everywhere, I was very lucky to not be collected. We have the pace, however we need more luck to be honest".

Gus Addison (3rd)
Fast Orange-Holden
"Today is a decent result for me. My start wasn't to great as I lost positions at the start. There were cars crashing everhwere and as Ivan said we were lucky not to be hit. The car felt incredible during the final laps as I was closing in on the top two, however the laps ran out! It's a nice feeling to take back the championship lead, though in saying that there is still a long way to go. Whcih surely some will be as chaotic as the first few we have had already".

Leave a Reply.